Skip to main content

Create a Group

info

Creating a group is optional. You only need one if you want to share your projects with other users. If you are creating a project for yourself, you can safely skip this step.

What is a group?

A group assembles users together so that they can share projects.

Create a group

Once logged, click on the menu item Groups and select the New Groups tab.

Add groups

Click on the code repository provider that you want to connect (GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket)

For GitHub

info

GitHub users cannot create groups. For more information, read the GitHub integration guide.

Add groups

Click the Install App button to install the Codiga App in the GitHub account associated.

If you don't see your group, install the Codiga App on your user account or organization.

info

If you previously installed the Codiga App on a User or Group, remove the app and reinstall it to renew your installation.

For GitLab

Click the Link my GitLab Account button.

Add groups

You will be redirected to User Preferences, then click the Link Account button for GitLab.

Add groups

You have linked your GitLab account. To unlink your account anytime, go to User Preferences, and click the Unlink button.

Add groups

Now, let's create groups for GitLab. Click on the menu item Groups, click the New Groups tab, and select GitLab. Now you can see the list of your projects. To join an existent group, click on the Join Group button on the right side of the screen. To create a new group, click on the Create Group button.

Add groups

Once you have joined or created a group, you will be redirected to My Groups tab.

Add groups

For Bitbucket

Click the Link my Bitbucket Account button.

Add groups

You will be redirected to User Preferences, then click the Link Account button for Bitbucket.

Add groups

You have linked your Bitbucket account. To unlink your account anytime, go to User Preferences, and click the Unlink button.

Add groups

Now, let's create groups for Bitbucket. Click on the menu item Groups, click the New Groups tab, and select Bitbucket. Now you can see the list of your projects. To join an existent group, click on the Join Group button on the right side of the screen. To create a new group, click on the Create Group button.

Add groups

Once you have joined or created a group, you will be redirected to My Groups tab.

Add groups

Adding users to the group

Note: You need to have administrator privileges for the specific group to add users.

Add a Codiga user

If the user already have a Codiga account, enter the following information:

  • Username: The GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket username. For Google accounts enter the user's Gmail address.
  • Account type: The account provider (GitHub, Gitlab, Bitbucket or Google).
  • Permission: Assign permissions to the user:
    • Read-only: can access to the group projects and read the data but cannot do any modification (such as adding other users, deleting projects, etc.)
    • Administrator: can add new users, delete projects and have the same rights as the group owner.

Add user

You can see the list of invited users in the Members section. To remove users from this group, click on the Revoke button. To manage permissions, click in the More button. You can also block users to join this group by themselves.

Add user

Invite a user

If the user doesn't have a Codiga account, enter the following information:

  • Email: The user's email.
  • Permission: Assign permissions to the user:
    • Read-only: can access to the group projects and read the data but cannot do any modification (such as adding other users, deleting projects, etc.)
    • Administrator: can add new users, delete projects and have the same rights as the group owner.

Add user

You can check the status of the invites in the Pending Invitations section. Click on the Revoke button to remove the invite for a user.

Add user